We love historic downtowns!

Enhancing the economic, social, cultural and environmental well-being of historic downtown business districts in Missouri.

Public and Private INVESTMENT


Net new businesses


Net New jobs


volunteer hours


Designated Missouri Main Street communities report economic impact in their districts each quarter. Cumulative totals for the program.


Board of Directors & Advisory Board

Board of Directors

  • Board President
    Robert (Bob) Lewis
    Professor, Urban Planning & Development
    St. Louis University
    St. Louis, MO
  • Immediate Past President
    Steven Hoffman

    Professor, Department of History
    Southeast MO State University
    Cape Girardeau, MO
  • Vice President
    Christine (Chris) Johnston

    MarksNelson, LLC
    Kansas City, MO
  • Board Treasurer
    Bridgette Kelch

    Executive Director,
    East Central College Foundation
    Union, MO
  • Secretary
    Dawn Dauer

    Chief Banking Officer,
    The Bank of Missouri 
    Cape Girardeau, MO

  • Board Member
    Karen Bode Baxter
    Preservation Specialist/Consultant
    St. Louis, MO

  • Board Member
    Robert Espeland

    Vice-President, State Tax Credit Clearinghouse
    US Bancorp
    St. Louis, MO
  • Board Member
    Sheila Holm 
    Community Outreach Director,
    AARP in St. Louis
    Fenton, MO
  • Board Member
    Sandy Lucy

    Mayor, City of Washington
    Washington, MO
  • Board Member
    Mark Pauley

    Senior Economic Development Specialist,
    Missouri Department of Economic Development
    Jefferson City, MO
  • Board Member
    Dan Ross

    Executive Director
    Missouri Municipal League
    Jefferson City, MO
  • Board Member
    Russ Volmert
    Capital Projects Manager,
    Forest Park Forever
    St. Louis, MO

Advisory Board

  • Darin Chappell
    City Administrator, City of Chillicothe
    Chillicothe, MO
  • Senator Mike Cierpiot
    District 8
    Jefferson City, MO
  • William Emmons
    Assistant Vice President and Economist
    Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
    St. Louis, MO
  • Mark Grimm
    Chairman, Gilmore and Bell
    St. Louis, MO
  • Jason Hall
    Greater St. Louis, Inc. 
    St. Louis, MO
  • Richard Sheets
    Missouri Municipal League
    Jefferson City, MO
  • Julie Turnipseed
    Anderson County Development Agency
    Garnett, KS
  • John Vietmeier
    Downtown Washington
    Washington, MO
  • Senator Brian Williams
    District 14
    Jefferson City, MO

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed, citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.”
- Margaret Mead -